Menu
Search

What are Possible Consequences of a DUI?

HomeBlogBlogWhat are Possible Consequences of a DUI?

What are Possible Consequences of a DUI?

Driving under the influence is a common cause of car accidents. As a result, law enforcement is aggressive in apprehending offenders. Even if it is your first offense, there are serious penalties for DUI charges in Michigan. It is important to have someone with experience representing you in this matter.  Our Michigan DUI attorneys explain some of the potential consequences you could face.  

Types of DUI Charges in Michigan

It is illegal to drive under the influence (DUI) in Michigan. There are different types of DUI charges in Michigan, which determine the consequences you could face. The Michigan Secretary of State advises that these include:

  • Operating While Visually Impaired (OWVI): As the name implies, you can be charged with OWVI if you appear to be under the influence of any amount of alcohol, illegal ‘street’ drugs, or medications. 
  • Operating While Intoxicated (OWI): This involves having a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08, which is over the legal limit, or .17 (a high BAC). 
  • Operating With Any Presence of Drugs (OWPD): These charges are based on the outcome of blood tests. 
  • Under Age 21 Operating With Any BAC (Zero Tolerance): If you are underage, you could face criminal charges for a BAC between .02 and .7 or having any amount of alcohol in your system, other than associated with religious ceremonies. 

Penalties For Michigan DUI Charges

Under the state Vehicle Code, there are serious consequences for driving under the influence (DUI) In Michigan. Penalties vary based on your BAC level, the exact charges involved, and whether you have any prior convictions. 

  • For a first OWVI (driving while visibly impaired): Penalties include fines up to $300, between 90 and 180-day driver’s license restriction, and up to 93 days in jail. 
  • For a first offense OWI (driving with a BAC over .08): Fines up to $500, a six-month driver’s license suspension, up to 93 days in jail, and 360 hours of community service;
  • First a first OWI with a high BAC:  Up to $700 in fines, a one-year driver’s license suspension, and up to 180 days in jail, as well as community service and alcohol education treatment classes. 

The Michigan State Police advise that these penalties increase dramatically for second, third, or subsequent offenses. They also become more severe if you were involved in a DUI-related car accident or otherwise caused injuries to others. 

Request a Consultation With Our Michigan DUI Attorneys

At Lucido & Manzella, P.C., we provide the strong legal defense you need to protect yourself against the serious penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) in Michigan. Give us a call or contact our office online and request a consultation with our Michigan drunk driving attorneys today.  

Share Post On

Talk To An Experienced & Aggressive Lawyer Today.

We offer a free initial consultation so you will get an opportunity to meet us, and we will have an opportunity to learn more about your legal issue.

Success Stories
in the News

Categories

Archives

Get In Touch With Us

Call Now Button