Menu
Search

Sterling Heights Drunk Driving Lawyers

HomeSterling Heights Drunk Driving Lawyers

Sterling Heights Drunk Driving Lawyers

Drinking and driving is against the law. Every motorist knows that, but that doesn’t stop many of them from getting behind the wheel after consuming alcoholic beverages. 

Alcohol consumption causes many effects, including lack of judgment, decreased reaction time, loss of muscle control, inability to focus your eyes, reduced alertness, poor balance, impaired memory, slowed thinking, and loss of concentration. These effects can negatively impact one’s driving ability, such as difficulty steering, inability to react to hazards, reduced ability to track moving objects, impaired perception, and inability to control speed. As a result, a driver may be unable to stay in their own lane and react to other vehicles, both of which can lead to serious accidents. 

Drunk drivers may be on the roadways at any time. However, they tend to be present in the late night/early morning hours, on the weekends (especially late on Friday and Saturday nights), on holidays, and near bars and other places that sell alcohol.

Read on to learn more about Michigan drunk driving laws and penalties.

Michigan Drunk Driving Laws

Under Michigan law, it is illegal to drive while impaired by alcohol with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more. This is called Operating While Intoxicated (OWI). Those who drive with a BAC of 0.17 or more may be convicted of a High BAC crime. High BAC comes with stiffer penalties. 

The laws above apply for those who are of drinking age (21 and up). If you are under age 21, it is against the law to drive with a BAC of 0.02 or more. In fact, you should not have any alcohol in your body at all unless it was consumed at a religious ceremony.

Penalties for Drunk Driving

Michigan has strict penalties for drunk driving. Even for a first offense, you can expect the following penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $100 to $500 fine
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Driver’s license suspension for six months
  • Six points on the driving record
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • $125 reinstatement fee for suspended, revoked, or restricted driver’s licenses

For a High BAC driver, there is a mandatory one-year driver’s license suspension for a first conviction. After serving 45 days of the license suspension, a High BAC driver may be able to get a restricted license if they have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle. The driver must also participate in a rehabilitation program, such as an alcohol treatment or self-help program.

Contact Our Sterling Heights Criminal Defense Attorneys

Drunk driving is a serious crime in Michigan. The state takes these crimes seriously and will even charge them as felonies in some cases. 

If you have been charged with Operating While Intoxicated, seek legal help from Lucido & Manzella, P.C. Our Sterling Heights criminal defense lawyers will provide you with a solid defense to get you the best outcome possible. Schedule a consultation today by filling out the online form or calling (586) 228-3900.

 

Talk To An Experienced & Aggressive Lawyer Today.

We offer a free initial consultation so you will get an opportunity to meet us, and we will have an opportunity to learn more about your legal issue.

Success Stories
in the News

Free Consultation with an Experienced & Aggressive Macomb County Lawyer

Our consultations offer an opportunity for you to meet our team and discuss your legal issues.

Hear From Our Clients

Get In Touch With Us

Call Now Button