Will I Go to Jail for My First DUI in Michigan?

HomeBlogBlogWill I Go to Jail for My First DUI in Michigan?

Will I Go to Jail for My First DUI in Michigan?

In Michigan, as in all other states, all motorists are prohibited from driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. Many people think that being charged with a DUI, or OWI, as the offense is known in Michigan, is not a serious matter. This is not true. There are very harsh penalties associated with an OWI conviction, even if it is a first offense. There are times when you may even face a jail sentence, even if you have not been charged before. Below, our Michigan DUI attorney explains further.

Jail Sentences for First-Time DUIs in Michigan

A first-offense OWI or DUI in Michigan is considered a misdemeanor offense. This does not mean the penalties are not serious. If you are convicted, you may face up to 93 days in jail. In certain circumstances, this sentence can even be increased to something much harsher. For example, if your BAC was 0.17 or greater, you are classified as being ‘super drunk’ while driving. The maximum jail time in these cases is 180 days for a first offense.

Michigan does not outline specific mandatory jail sentences for a first offense. However, judges in certain counties are more likely to impose harsher sentences, including jail time for a first offense. A subsequent conviction will result in even longer jail sentences, which could include several months to one year or more.

Fines for First-Time DUIs in Michigan

Jail sentences are not the only penalty associated with driving under the influence. There are also high fines involved. The fines in DUI cases can vary between $500 and $2,000. It is not uncommon for combined court costs and fines to total more than $1,000.

Driver’s License Penalties for First-Time DUIs in Michigan

In Michigan, your driver’s license will almost always be impacted by a DUI. Even first offenders will have a driver’s license suspension of at least 90 days. Sometimes, the suspension period is twice as long as this, such as when a person is classified as super drunk. A second DUI offense will result in a driver’s license suspension of at least one year. If you are convicted of a DUI a third time, your driver’s license will be suspended for up to five years.

Under the implied consent laws of the state, you can also have your driver’s license suspended if you refuse a blood, breath, or urine test. However, in some cases, it is possible to obtain a restricted license that will allow you to travel to essential places, such as school or work. It is always important to speak to a DUI attorney who can advise on your case.

Call Our DUI Attorney in Michigan Today

If you have been charged with an OWI, do not hesitate to contact our Michigan DUI attorney at Lucido & Manzella, P.C. Our experienced attorneys can prepare the solid defense you need to beat your charges and can advise you of all of your legal options. Call us now or contact us online to schedule a consultation and learn more.

Share Post On

Talk To An Experienced & Aggressive Lawyer Today.

We offer a free initial consultation so you will get an opportunity to meet us, and we will have an opportunity to learn more about your legal issue.

Success Stories
in the News



Get In Touch With Us