Driving With a Suspended License in Michigan

HomeBlogBlogDriving With a Suspended License in Michigan

Driving With a Suspended License in Michigan

Drivers have a huge responsibility when out on the roadways. They have an obligation to operate vehicles with care. Any type of negligent or dangerous driving can have serious repercussions on your driver’s license.

If the traffic offense is serious enough, your driver’s license may get suspended. In the event of a license suspension, a person’s driving privileges are temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time. The license may be reinstated once the terms of the suspension are fulfilled. You will have to renew your driver’s license through the Secretary of State Branch office. A Michigan traffic lawyer can assist you with the process so you can get your license back as quickly as possible.

Common Causes of License Suspension

A driver can have their license suspended in the following ways:

  • Manslaughter or negligent homicide
  • Other felonies involving use of a motor vehicle
  • Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Operating  a motor vehicle while visibly impaired
  • Refusal to take a chemical test
  • Failing to stop and give identification at an accident scene
  • Reckless driving
  • Fleeing from a police officer
  • Drag racing
  • Excessive speed (11 miles per hour or more over the speed limit)
  • Failure to yield for emergency vehicles
  • Careless driving
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign
  • Improper passing
  • Failure to stop at a railroad crossing
  • Failure to stop for a school bus or a school crossing guard

What Happens if You Drive With a Suspended License?

Driving with a suspended license is common because it can be hard to find alternative transportation. Still, it is illegal, so if you do it, you could face misdemeanor charges. While a misdemeanor is not as bad as a felony, it can still result in fines and jail time.

For a first offense, you could face up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. For a second or subsequent conviction, the penalties increase to one year in prison and as much as $1,000 in fines.

When an accident is involved while driving with a suspended license, the crime is elevated to a felony. The penalties will likely be more serious depending on the amount of damage involved. 

If someone was injured, you could face up to five years in prison and be fined as much as $5,000. If you kill someone while driving under a license suspension, you could face up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. In addition, your auto insurer will find out and likely raise your rates or drop you as a customer altogether.

Contact Us Today

Traffic tickets and violations can have serious consequences. You could be fined, lose your license, or even spend time in jail. 

The experienced Michigan traffic lawyers from Lucido & Manzella, P.C., can help you with your traffic violations so you can get your license reinstated with ease. We will help you get a favorable outcome. Fill out the online form or call (586) 228-3900 to schedule a consultation.

Share Post On

Talk To An Experienced & Aggressive Lawyer Today.

We offer a free initial consultation so you will get an opportunity to meet us, and we will have an opportunity to learn more about your legal issue.

Success Stories
in the News



Get In Touch With Us