DUI Attorney Macomb County

HomeDUI Attorney Macomb County

DUI Attorney Macomb County

DUI charges are extremely common in Macomb County, but they are also largely misunderstood. For instance, DUI charges throughout Michigan are known as operating while intoxicated, or OWI. Also, it is not uncommon for OWI charges to be laid even when a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is under the legal limit of 0.08 percent. Regardless of the charges a person faces, a conviction has serious penalties. These include jail time and the suspension or revocation of the motorist’s driver’s license. To avoid these penalties, it is critical to speak to a DUI attorney in Macomb County.

Operating While Intoxicated

Many people think that an OWI charge is not that serious, but that is not the case. Like most other states, the legal BAC limit in Michigan is 0.08 percent. If you drive while you are over this legal limit, you will face criminal charges. 

If you have consumed intoxicating liquor, you may also face charges of operating under the influence of liquor, which is abbreviated to an OUIL. If you have consumed drugs and cannot operate a vehicle safely, you may be charged with operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs (OUID). You can face OUID charges regardless of whether the drugs you consumed were legal prescriptions or illicit narcotics.

Operating While Visibly Impaired

All residents of Macomb County should also know about charges of operating while visibly impaired (OWVI). These charges are quite concerning because the prosecution does not require certain evidence, such as chemical tests, to secure a conviction. Instead, other evidence is used to prove that someone was visibly impaired and could not operate a vehicle safely. Field sobriety tests, for instance, are quite commonly used in these cases as evidence. Even a first-time conviction can result in jail time and a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. It is critical that you work with a Macomb County DUI attorney who can prepare a strong defense.

Driver’s License Suspension or Revocation

Many incidents pertaining to OWIs can result in losing your driver’s license. For example, if you are convicted of an OWI, your driver’s license will be suspended for six months, even if it is your first offense. You will also have to wait at least 30 days before you can request a restricted license. If you are convicted of OWI twice in seven years, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of five years. If you refuse a chemical test, such as a breath test, you will face an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension under the implied consent laws of the state.

Our DUI Attorney in Macomb County Can Help with Your Charges

Being charged with an OWI is very frightening and can have significant consequences if you are convicted. At Lucido & Manzella, P.C., our Macomb County DUI attorney can prepare the defense you need so you can retain your freedom. Call us now or contact us online to schedule a consultation and learn more about how we can help with your case.

Talk To An Experienced & Aggressive Lawyer Today.

We offer a free initial consultation so you will get an opportunity to meet us, and we will have an opportunity to learn more about your legal issue.

Success Stories
in the News

Free Consultation with an Experienced & Aggressive Macomb County Lawyer

Our consultations offer an opportunity for you to meet our team and discuss your legal issues.

Hear From Our Clients

Get In Touch With Us